Mikan

2 11 2007

Aah, the fourth Momusu release of 2007. I’m really, really looking forward to the release of Morning Musume’s “Mikan”.

The piano opening at first had me thinking of “Koi ING” (b-side to Go Girl), but then it totally gets to classic Momusu. It sort of reminds me of Koko ni Iruzee, which is very good, since that single broke a million. Everyone’s saying this is a step back to the “Golden Age” songs, and I agree. I’m really looking forward to how this sells and the PV and the b-side and all that jazz.

Unfortunately, Takahashi get most of the solo lines, yet again. This disappoints me, I’d really love to see some of the other members get some lines. But if she sells, she sells, I suppose.

I think Momusu has been a little experimental this year. The past three singles have been a totally new sound for Momusu, especially Kanashimi Twilight and Onna ni Sachi Are. I deffinitely think bringing back Suzuki “Daichi” is a good idea (he arranged Aruiteru, Momusu’s last #1 single). I also think trying the more “classic” Momusu sound is a good experiment, to see how it sells.

However, if Momusu does continue this sound, then they’re be hardly any difference in the main groups of H!P (Momusu, Biyuuden, Berryz, C-ute). Berryz Koubou and C-ute already have that cutesy sound (minus Tokaikko Junjou), and for Momusu to start heading there too might be a bit too much similarities in the sounds of the different groups.

But once again, what sells sells.

Nonetheless, I can’t wait for Mikan! I hope I won’t be dissapointed by the PV, since I’m really excited about it! (Hoping to see some of the random crap that was in old Momusu PVs like Koko ni Iruzee and Hyokkori Hyoutan-jima!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

