I’ve Thought About It…

29 11 2007

Alright. So I’ve finally processed the low Mikan sales. And I’ve come to the logical conclusion that so what? One low single isn’t going to kill Momusu.

Everyone’s noticed that Berryz and C-ute have outsold Momusu this time. That’s a good thing, everyone. I mean, it’s not good that Momusu sold poorly, but the H!P Kids seem to be the future of H!P, so their good sales are very promising. And with so much of them out on the market right now and wota only having so much money to splurge on H!P, I wouldn’t blame them for choosing Tokaikko Junjou or pre-ordering Tsukiatteru no ni Kataomoi instead.

One of the main things that I’ve come to is this: Mikan was a “Golden Age” song, as many people speculated. The fact of the matter is that the Golden Age is over. Kanashimi Twilight sold so well because it’s the sound that people like these days. Bubblegum pop isn’t as popular as it used to be, and a large chunk of what’s popular in Japan is rock and hip-hop (I’m not suggesting in the slightest that MM should go all ganster here). Kanshimi Twilight was more of what’s popular, but still had Momusu in it. Onna ni also had the Momusu sound, but the lyrics weren’t their typical “live happy, fall in love, rainbows and unicorns” lyrics, it was more realistic.

I’m not saying that Mikan was a bad song or anything of the sort, but I think it was more of an experimental sound for Momusu to see if their old sounds could still sell. Obviously it can’t. So live and learn. Let’s hope the next single is better.

(PS- Sorry if that makes no sense, I’ve been sick with strep for three days, so my mind’s like… blah right now)

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 12 2007
Magi-Kat

Ya know, I actually agree with your view. It makes a whole lot of sense when you think about it! Fascinating…

1 12 2007
Hotaru

Yes! I feel the same way. I believe that Momusu has a while to go before they disintegrate. 😀

Leave a Reply

