TLS Blogger Survey

18 05 2008

There’s a survey over at Broomhead’s True Life Seek for bloggers, and I decided to do it. I’m sure it won’t cause any harm, so why not? 8D

Goals:

  • Why do you blog? Plain and simple: I have very strong opinions and I want them to be heard. I was content talking to my fellow H!P fans about them for a while, but they got tired of listening to me rant, so I started a blog.
  • What long-term goals do you hope to accomplish, if any at all? I don’t really blog to accomplish anything. I just… do it to be heard.
  • Where does your blog fail to meet your goals? I think the only failure in it is my own lack of updating. I get caught up in other things and end up not writing for a month or so, which really upsets me. Otherwise I think it’s great.
  • If you do have goals, what will accomplishing them do for yourself? Next. :3
  • What do you want to gain out of blogging? A creative outlet? Praise from others? Personal satisfaction? Money? Ahh… well… I’d have to say the first three. I like being heard, as I’ve said, so it’s a creative outlet. I also love comments and the responses from IW, so it’s also for the praise. But I also get satisfaction from myself when I write a really good blog entry, too.
  • Do you feel that your blog should meet a requirement for amount of entries? Do you feel any particular entry should be a certain length? Not at all. Some subjects can be covered in ten words, others need five pages. It all depends on what you’re writing on, how strong of an opinion you have on it, and how much you want to get across.
  • For any particular entry, what motivates you to start and finish blog posts? I almost always start because I get overly excited about something or overly angry–always a strong emotion. And I hate not finishing what I’ve already started.
  • Do you actively consider long term goals for each individual post? Hm… not really.

Subject Material:

  • What do you blog about? Asian music. 8D Mainly Jpop and Kpop.
  • Would you be keep a blog even if it wasn’t about the subjects you tend to cover? Maybe if I felt strongly about it. But probably not.
  • Do you write about the material to promote it to others? Sometimes. Not often.

Readership:

  • How much do you care about readership? A lot. It’s what keeps me going most of the time. I mean, if no one’s going to read it, why write it?
  • Does it satisfy you to know people are reading, even if they don’t comment? Yes. I love comments more than anything about blogging, but numbers are nice, too.
  • What effect does receiving a comment have on you? If it’s a nice comment, as most of them are, they make me smile. A lot. Some of them make me squee. And then the mean ones… well, I tend to ingore them or bitch. 8D
  • Do you write with a particular audience in mind or an unspecified general audience? Why? Definitely a general audience. If I wrote for a particular group of people, then I would be trying to appeal to them, and not saying what I want to say. I’d be trying to be popular, which isn’t the point at all.
  • If you write for a particular audience, is it International Wota? If yes, why? I think I did at first, just to get heard, to get my name out there, but not anymore.

Community: (The International Wota section)

  • If International Wota didn’t exist, would you blog? Yes.
  • When IW covers an entry of yours, are you encouraged to blog more or less? More. Even if they’re really critical of me, which they sometimes are, it just pushes me to be better.
  • When IW does not cover an entry, are you encouraged to blog more or less? Neither. It doesn’t really affect me. I just think “Oh, they’ll get the next one,” and keep writing.
  • How often do you read other blogs? A lot. I get a lot of inspiration from other blogs, and it’s always good to hear what other people think about something you write about. They often notice things you don’t as well. I think it’s important for bloggers to read other blogs–just like authors read other books.
  • How often do you comment on other blogs? I comment when I have an short opinion on something (meaning not long or strong enough to write my own blog about it) they write or if I think something if funny or offensive, which I guess is about half the time.
  • If another blog covers a topic that you wanted or wished to cover, do you still blog about that specific topic? Why or why not? Of course I do. Their opinion isn’t the same as mine; they don’t notice all the things I do. Even if they seemed to have covered everything, it’s not the same if I don’t get to say it as well.

Commitment:

  • How serious is your attitude towards blogging? Do you consider it just as something to do for fun? Yeah, it’s just a hobby. I wouldn’t consider it for money ever–I suck at writing. And I would hate to be pressured to do it.
  • How often do you blog? How often would you like to blog? I blog normally a few times a week, but lately I’ve been slowing down to do school. I like the pace I go at, though–my own. It’s enough for me.
  • What priorities do you or have you put aside in order to blog? Why? Haha, ususally schoolwork. I always find things to do instead of schoolwork. :3
  • Do you see yourself blogging in 6 months? Why or why not? Yeah, because I’ll still have opinions then, and there’ll still be drama in the Asian music world to be opinionated on.

Personal:

  • Would you say you blog for yourself? It’d say it’s half and half.
  • What is your feeling after posting an entry? Is it relative to the time and effort you put in an entry? I usually feel accomplished that I actually did it and releieved that it’s done, especially if it’s a long entry.
  • What needs does blogging fulfill? I’m not sure… that sense of accomplishment and recognition?
  • Do you consider yourself a writer? Haha. No. I suck at writing, I’m well aware of that.
  • Do you consider yourself good at writing? Good at blogging? No, not good at writing, but I’d like to think I’m a good blogger. If you can keep people coming back and reading your stuff, I think that qualifies as a good blogger.
  • How much of your personal life do you share on your blog? If none, why do you leave this out? Hardly any. I don’t write about me most of the time. And people don’t need to know about my personal life, that’s not why they read my blog (hopefully 8D).

That was fun. 8D I definitely found some stuff out about myself and my blog through this that I’d never thought about before. :3

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

