That Ain’t Cool.

9 06 2008

Ain’t it though?

I love Fergie.  I disected her song Big Girls Don’t Cry for English last year (and got a 94 or something on it, too).  I haven’t come across a song of hers that I don’t like. 

I love Koda Kumi.  Out of all the 5QUEENS (Ayu, Koda, BoA, Namie, and Hikki), she’s the sex (Ayu’s the insane one, BoA’s the innocent one, Namie’s the hip-hopper, and Hikki’s 100% vocals).  And I love watching a good sexy PV every once in a while (seeing as that never happens in H!P).  I haven’t come across a song of hers that I don’t like, either. 

So it seems impossible for me to dislike this song.  Which is very true.  I nearly peed my pants waiting for the PV to come out (there was no doubt in my mind that there would be one). 

I like the song.  Koda pwns Fergie to no end in it.  She sounds sexier, looks sexier, and overall just is sexier.  I like that.  I like Koda more than Fergie. 

Fergie made me laugh.  Her hair and aerobics on that table… it’s like… wtf?  And of course she’s psuedo-making out with some random guy for half the PV–she always is. 

Unfortunately, the song is in English.  I kind of knew it would be, but I hoped that it would’t.  I hoped that Fergie would grow some balls and sing in Japanese at least a little (Celine Dion did it for Yuna Ito).  The only Japanese word in there was sayonara.  And that’s hardly Japanese anymore.  Even in interviews with the two, it’s always English.  Koda has to learn English to communicate with her friend, but said “friend” won’t learn Japanese for Koda. 

Don’t get me wrong, I still love Fergie, but it’s just a little upsetting. 

The PV itself was somewhat interesting–Koda/Fergie (FerDa? KoGie? FerDa? KoFer?) feeling each other up in a parking lot (which actually has significance in the song), Fergie doing aerobics in a black leather suit on a table (with her hair in this hilarious braid… thing), Koda taking sexy pictures with her phone and leaning over a balcony (which is sexy), and oh yeah, Fergie psuedo-making out with some random guy. 

The lyrics are undoubtedly written by Fergie or one of her lyricists that normally writes for her.  They scream Fergie (man cheating, Fergie keeping her pride and leaving before he does).  Which makes me wonder, considering Fergie got most of the attention on this song… is this really Koda Kumi feat. Fergie?  Or is it Fergie feat. Koda Kumi? 

Hm…

Nonetheless, I’m super happy that these two best friends finally got to do their collaboration that they’ve been planning for forever.  I can’t wait for another one in the future!

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 06 2008
International Wota » Avex Trax Blogs » [Blogs] Shanimuni Paradise with another SuJu unit, and Koda and Fergie

[…] It’s Time to Get Cooking? Yes, Cooking! That Ain’t Cool. […]

10 06 2008
kucchi

i agree!
I just notcied though that Koda actually does say some more japanese like “anoko tachi to” and “anata niwa” etc but still pretty minimal.

11 06 2008
ChaosAkita

@kucchi:

Those would actually be “ano kotachi to” and “anata ni wa”

Leave a Reply

