Otsuka Ai – Kurage, Nagareboshi

20 09 2008

…Otsuka Ai looks gorgeous with short hair.

Anyway, I downloaded this on an impulse because I was doing my weekly downloads and saw it and thought “Why not?”.  I’m really happy I did, because this whole single is amazing and I can’t stop listening to it.

Track 01 – Kurage, Nagareboshi

There are so many similarities between this and Planetarium it isn’t even funny.  It’s not a bad thing, because Planetarium is one of my all-time favorite songs.  The PV itself is similar as well–both are set at night time/evening/early morning (or something along those lines), both are very serene, both feature Ai in a long, flowing dress, and both have her singing (in this case, playing piano and singing) in the water.  But also within the song itself there are similarities.  They have similar melodies and use a lot of the same background vocals.  But once again, these aren’t bad things, it’s just a bit redundant.

Needless to say, I really like this song.  It has proved very helpful in calming me down this week (my dad’s been PMSing and being a total bastard all week), especially during 500 point tests, so I’m grateful for that.

Track 02 – H20

The title of this song amuses me.  I’m not really sure what it has to do with the song itself, but it makes me imagine Otsuka Ai doing chemistry and stoichiometry… that would be amusing.  =D

This song reminds me of CHU-LIP.  They’re not quite as identical as Planetarium and Kurage, Nagareboshi, but they’re still pretty similar.  It didn’t really stick out to me quite as much as the other two songs.  It’s pretty typical Otsuka Ai: fun, upbeat, and generally happy.

Track 03 – Ame no Tsubu, Waltz ~LOVE MUSiC~

This is definitely my favorite song on the whole single.  It’s different than what I’m used to hearing, which is a definite bonus.  At first I was expecting it to be really waltz-y and weird and I didn’t think I would like it, but it’s definitely not that at all.  I keep thinking that this song would sound so much nicer if Ai would use a vibrato on the big, long notes, but it doesn’t necessarily sound bad without it.  I like the bittersweet melody (and what I would assume to be bittersweet lyrics, but hey, what do I know?).  I would love to see this live some day.

Overall this is one of my favorite Otsuka Ai singles so far (given that I haven’t heard all of them).  And for some reason it makes me want to rewatch Hana Yori Dango again.  In fact, I think I will.  Excuse me while I go do that (and for those of you who have never seen it: do.  It’s one of the best dramas ever.  Seriously yo.)

And here’s the Kurage, Nagareboshi PV for those of you who haven’t seen it~

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2008
[Blogs] Shanimuni Paradise: Turning one, Hot Koda Kumi and Ai Otsuka’s latest release | International Wota

[…] And More Importantly… One Year! Damn That’s Hot. Otsuka Ai – Kurage, Nagareboshi […]

29 10 2011
RingCentral Coupons

I always was concerned in this topic and still am, appreciate it for posting .

Leave a Reply

