TOP! Part 9 – J- and K-Idols

26 01 2012

This was requested early last year by qwert.  Sorry it took me this long to get to it.  The ninth installment of my TOP! series (see the page above to learn more about the series) is my top 20 j- and k-idols.  Again, that’s the smallest number I could muster.  I’ll spare you of the honorable mentions, though.  In order to keep the list doable, I kept it to members of idol groups (past and present).  It was also a very hard list, so some of the ones I would have put in here had to be cut.  Also, I only put one member per group to keep the list from being all Super Junior, SHINee, SNSD, or BIG BANG.

20. Kashiyuka (Perfume)

She’s always been my favorite  member of Perfume, and for a long time, Perfume was my favorite Jpop group.  She’s adorable and a great performer.  Well A~chan is usually the center, I can never take my eyes off of Kashiyuka.  She definitely gets the cream of the crop in outfits almost every single, and while her vocals are outshined by her fellow members, she’s slowly getting better and better.  And, come on, look at that smile.

19. Ishida Ayumi (Morning Musume) Ueda Tatsuya (KAT-TUN)

I think Kamenashi Kazuya used to be my favorite member of KAT-TUN, but he’s kind of a killjoy.  Then it was Akanishi Jin, but he turned into a self-righteous bastard that ruined by favorite Johnny’s group.  But in the background, I’ve always loved him.  He’s the most talented vocalist in the group, and definitely the prettiest.  I started to fangirl him around when he had his solo tour.  A member who’s never had a solo release has a solo concert.  Oh yeah, that’s Uepi for ya.

18. Masuda Takahisa (NEWS)

He’s always been my favorite member of NEWS, and they’ve always been one of my favorite Jpop groups.  They still would be if they would release anything.  Even though the loss of Yamapi and Ryo was supposed to increase the activity, it’s been a good couple of months and still… nothing.  Massu has an adorable face that you can’t help but love, but unexpectedly is also the acrobat of the group, and is very well-built.  He’s just an all-kill.

17. T.O.P. (BIG  BANG)

If I had made this list a year ago, T.O.P. would probably be at the top (trololol) of this list.  In addition to the serious lack of BIG BANG in the past year and my not being a huge fan of the songs that GD&TOP put out, frankly, I’m starting to like the other members more.  T.O.P. definitely has the most swag, but my love for the group isn’t just because of him anymore.  I really love BIG BANG as a whole these days, so it’s hard to love just T.O.P.  However, he’s still my favorite member of my favorite Kpop group, so he is on here by default.  And seriously, if you haven’t seen Iris (K-drama) yet, you need to.  It was beyond phenomenal.

16. Fujimoto Miki

Ah, Mikitty.  Another one of the best singers to ever grace Hello! Project.  She was a huge bitch when she was in Morning Musume, and I really hated her for a very long time, despite her saucy and soothing voice.  Before and after Morning Musume is when she really shined.  She was always meant to be solo.  She’s also on the growing list of knocked up MoMusu mommies, and man, that child is going to have some seriously superior genes.  Lucky fuck.

15. Amber f(x)

This is another “If this list was made a year ago…” idols.  Amber would probably have been on my “least favorite idols” list.  I was rereading a lot of my previous posts, and man, I really hated Amber.  These days I’m not sure why.  She’s what makes f(x) worth paying attention to.  Who cares about Sully, there’s a million of her in Kpop.  Amber is the star of the group.  She was also born really close to where I was, so that makes her even cooler to me.  She is so unique in a sea of plastic perfection.  And when she wears eyeliner (see above), she is stunning.  Listening to f(x)’s discography, you can really tell she’s improved incredibly on her Korean.  While dual English/Korean fluency isn’t uncommon among Kpop rappers, it certainly isn’t in girl groups, and added to her unique appearance, Amber is definitely one of the most endearing female idols in Kpop.

14. Lee Hongki (F.T Island)

I probably would also have him a bit higher up if he hadn’t also disappointed me in 2011.  That aside, I fell in love with Hongki because of the drama You’re Beautiful.  It’s one of the best dramas I’ve seen and he played my favorite character. He’s a very talented musician and, prepare yourself, definitely the best male singer in Kpop.  He’s not suited for a boy band, hence F.T Island, where he really shines.  They bored me a bit in the past year, though, otherwise he would probably be a lot higher up.

14. Niigaki Risa

Since Kamei and the Pandas left, Risa had been my favorite Musume.  She’d always been at the top of my list, though.  She’s an amazing vocalist that never gets to show off her skills, a talented rapper, and has a shining personality to match.  She always has something interesting, instead of the same, dull routines every time you see her (Reina, Sayumi, I’m looking at you).  I really hope she does some kind of solo releases instead of turning into a musical junkie like Aichan.

13. Yaguchi Mari

Ah, my favorite oldschool Musume.  Really, does it even need to be explained why I love her?  She just gets better and better and better.  Marippe, you’ll never get old to me.  (I used that image because she is SO PRECIOUS with her giant of a husband.)

12. Yonghwa (C.N. Blue)

I also fell in love with this idol and his band from You’re Beautiful (and all the other main actors as well haha). I like him more in acting than on stage or in variety programs. But he’s hot and has gauged ears and is so suave and such a good singer. Sometimes he seems a bit cocky, but at least he keeps things interesting. C.N. Blue had a great release in 2011 (it was just one, right??), and it made me love him and them even more.  And he can (kind of) scat.  Awesome!

11. Donghae (Super Junior)

Choosing one Super Junior idol is hard.  Of the current members, I would say several are my favorites: Leeteuk, Kyuhyun, and Eunhyuk.  If not current members, Heechul and Kangin would be at the top of my SuJu list.  In fact, I did a TOP! a long time ago dedicated just to SuJu.  Of course, as with everything, my opinions have changed.  Most of my tops are still my tops.  But I would have to say my favorite is Donghae.  I think he is a thousand times sexier than Siwon (sorry, not a big fan).  He has really improved his singing skills to be up to par with those of Ryeowook and Sungmin.  He’s still one of the best dancers in the group, and since Super Junior M (okay, okay, since “Marry U”), he’s turned out to be a very charismatic and talented rapper as well.  And did I mention how smoking hot he is?  Yeah…

10. Hyoyeon (Girls’ Generation/Shoujo Jidai/SNSD/So Nyu Shi Dae)

You may have noticed throughout the years that I’m usually a bit predictable.  My favorites usually end up being either the main dancer, rapper, or the underdog.  SNSD is no exception.  Because they don’t rap (thank God), my favorite has always been Hyoyeon.  She doesn’t get to show off her dancing very much (even in those wimpy things they call dance breaks during single performances), but she is consistently the least popular in Korea (number one in Europe, though :D).  This may be because she often gets shafted on lines, screentime, and those awful outfits the stylists love to torture her with.  But she’s so confident and upbeat despite all that, and she still has a firm grasp on reality.  I love her.  Her almost tie for this group was Sooyoung.

09. Song Jieun (Secret)

Wow, she sure snuck her way up here.  I didn’t think Jieun would rank this high until I started comparing.  I have this love/hate relationship with Secret.  I think “Magic” and “Madonna” were phenomenal songs, but “Shy Boy” and “Starlight, Moonlight” were godawful.  Then they came out with “Love is MOVE”, and WOW what an amazing song!  Compared to “The Boys”, I honestly would pick “Love is MOVE” any day.  And you don’t talk about Secret without talking about it’s shining star Song Jieun.  She’s a very talented vocalist, and I particularly enjoy her solo releases.  Oh, yeah, and she ROCKS blue hair.

08. Li Chun/Junjun

I’ve never made it a secret that I think the Pandas were the best thing to ever happen to Morning Musume.  I even have a couple fangirl posts on Junjun.  She was my favorite for a while.  Do you remember how awkward she was for the first year or so of being an idol?  She was adorable.  Then she turned out to be quite the entertainer!  She’s funny and cute.  While she may not be the greatest singer or dancer, she sure tried, and that adorable face made it okay.  She’s really much better cut out for acting and modeling, which is what she’s doing back in China now.  I had a hard time choosing between her and Linlin, but in the end, Junjun won.

07. Eunjung (T-ara)

Eunjung was the only name I knew in T-ara until just recently (still don’t know most of their names).  She always catches my eye and leaves the other girls out of my mind.  I like it when idols are versatile like Eunjung.  She’s a great singer and rapper and dancer and actress.  I think T-ara was great under her leadership because she’s so caring for the other members.  Eunjung is very dedicated to her job, she recently injured herself and kept performing (and then injured it even worse).  You can tell she loves what she does.  And for that, I love her!

06. Seungyeon (KARA)

I’ve never really cared for the other members of KARA.  I love them as a group and their music, don’t get me wrong.  I’m a KARA fan!  But as for the members, only Seungyeon has ever stuck out to me.  She’s adorable and a really great singer.  And she’s entertaining to watch outside of music programs (many of the same reasons I love all the other top idols on here).

05. Yoseob (BEAST)

I fall in love with Yoseob a little more every time BEAST does something.  He has some of the best pipes in Kpop, especially his falsetto.  He can be super sexy and incredibly adorable.  He’s a great frontman for the group.  Admittedly, BEAST has become one of my favorite groups (even over Super Junior).  I also really like Hyunseung and Junhyung, but Yoseob will always be my favorite.  I still want to marry him.

04. Yubin (Wonder Girls)

You had to know that the Wonder Girls would be up here.  They were the very first Kpop girl group I fangirled.  They are still my favorite Kpop girl group.  And, I know this is heresy, but I actually like Lim better than Sunmi.  *gasp*  Almost tied with Yeeun, Yubin is still my favorite member.  She is by far one of the most talented rappers in Kpop girl groupdom.  And her ability to rap in English without an accent is amazing.  She’s really different than other idols because she’s not only sassy, but she always is sporting that bronzed skin that’s looked down upon in Asia because she looks HOT with it.

02. Kevin (U-Kiss)

Speaking of creaping up out of no where, surprisingly my number two is Kevin.  Even above Yoseob.  Why is this surprising?  U-Kiss was among the list of new-but-not-super-new Kpop groups that I couldn’t care less about until Neverland.  I mean, I’d listened to some of there earlier stuff and they were okay, but like Infinite, I’d never really had a reason to fangirl them.  And Kibum sketched me out.  He looks way too much like his brother.  So their first release without him I wasn’t even going to listen to, but by accident I did.  And it was instant fangirlism.  And while the other members are slowly warming up to me, Kevin is still my favorite.  He caught my eye right away, not only because he has the same name as my older brother, but because he’s super sexy.  And an awesome singer and dancer.  And sexy.  Probably my favorite thing about him is that he’s in the growing list of Kpop idols born in the same state I was.  He’s fluent in English!  He’s really friendly and endearing.  Right now, he’s probably my top contender for future husband.

But my favorite idol is still…

01. Taemin (SHINee)

Oh yeah.  Now, I’ve posted about why I love him before in a previous TOP!, so I’ll save you the redundancy.  He’s getting better and better at everything–singing, dancing, himself, and being an idol in general.  I’m really excited to see how he develops when he graduates high school (this year, right?).

There you have it!  My top 20 idols!  If there’s someone you’re surprised to see or not see on here, let me know in the comments below!  And if there’s another TOP! you think I should countdown, put that here too!

(Beware, I have an onslaught of reviews heading your way.  They weren’t posted because it took me five days to write this :D)

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 02 2012
30 Day Idol Challenge 1 ~Favorite~ « Shanimuni Paradise

[…] 1 is about your favorite idol.  A couple days ago, I posted a TOP! on my favorite idols, so you already know who my number one is (spoiler: it’s Taemin from SHINee).  So instead, […]

26 02 2012
30 Day Idol Challenge 24&25 ~Admitting/Non-Japanese~ « Shanimuni Paradise

[…] idol challenge is your favourite non-Japanese idol.  Now, I think I’ve made it pretty clear before that most of my favorites are not Japanese idols.  And… I think I’ve made it known who […]

Leave a Reply

