Absolute Kpop Perfection

18 04 2012

You may or may not have heard of Kpop girl group Girl’s Day.  They’re the ones that did that really catchy song “Twinkle, Twinkle” with the adorable “hajima, hajima, ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma” dance.  Yeah, those ones.  I haven’t really paid all that much attention to them besides that one song, but I stumbled upon their newest music video for their upcoming album, “Oh! My God.”

Ladies and gentlemen, it is absolute perfection.  This is one of the best music videos I have ever seen.

I’m not entirely sure where to even start here.  Bear with me, I don’t know any of these girls’ names.

These days, if a Kpop music video is completely generic *cough*4minute*cough*), it takes everything in me to sit through the entire thing, if that.  But the first couple of seconds of “Oh! My God” had me hooked right away.  The squeaky conversation and cheesy sound effects are absolutely hilarious, even a tad endearing.

The general story is this: the main girl you see at the beginning is a goody-two-shoes by day and is dropped off at the library by her father, but quickly changes into street clothes and heads to a club.  There she proceeds to crush every single member of Girl’s Day in dance battles until they all set aside their differences and have a big, happy dance party.

While the other members don’t give her much competition… I am blown away by the main girl (Minah?) in the music video.  To enter the club, she b-boys (b-girls?) her way in, and my first impression was that it was a joke.  Her first b-boy sequences wasn’t entirely impressive and I was sure this was part of the cheesy, joking feeling of the music video.  But, damn, was I wrong.  She is phenomenal at b-boy break dancing.  You rarely see girls doing that kind of dance, especially female celebrities, especially idols because it falters from their aegyo feminine image.  Since Girl’s Day seems to be based off of aegyo, it’s even more surprising.  But Minah seriously holds her own and shows everyone else up.

Aside from that, the other members are really clutsy and silly and the overall music video is awesome.  I was laughing the whole way through.  It’s so bright and colourful.  It really says something that Girl’s Day is willing to be absolutely ridiculous and silly and make a video where we laugh at their antics.  They don’t take themselves too seriously to have fun (*cough*4minute*cough*).  I love it.  While a dose of maturity is essential every now and then, there’s a serious lack of fun in Kpop.  Maybe that’s why I still listen to Jpop.

As for the song itself, I can’t help but feel that they were trying to hard to make another “Twinkle, Twinkle.”  The songs are really similar in multiple ways; even the dances share some resemblances.  I mean, really, they changed the lyrics, took out the rap, and tweaked the melody a little: BAM! NEW SONG!  (Read: Lazy.)  I’m not going to lie, it’s catchy as hell, and I think it’ll see a bit of the popularity of “Twinkle, Twinkle”, but they’re just too similar to have the same effect twice.  Is it on my iPod?  Yes.  Am I going to listen to it daily for the next couple weeks? Of course.  Am I going to play it back-to-back with the aforementioned replica? Probably not.

In a nutshell: The music video is pure gold.  The song is awesome, too, but next time, Girl’s Day, let’s try something a bit more original.

Did you feel the song was original, or do you agree that it’s a poor attempt to recreate the smash hit “Twinkle, Twinkle?”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

