Jumping on the Bandwagon (Taetiseo – Twinkle)

30 04 2012

All the other large girl groups that are SNSD’s competition (After School, Rainbow) are making subgroups to saturate the market.  This way, instead of trying to coordinate 9 different schedules to one comeback, the companies can just pick three of them and save themselves tons of effort.  And since everyone else is doing it, so is SNSD!

Unlike Orange Caramel and it’s doppelganger Rainbow Pixie, however, SNSD broke away from the cutesy/magic sound (kind of) and decided to put their vocal powerhouses together for a unique concept.  Taeyeon, Tiffany, and Seohyun are the members of SNSD’s very first subunit.  They just released their first music video, “Twinkle!”  If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out under the cut!

Wow, where to start.  I was honestly a tad bit frightened by the cover and teaser images for this group.  It looked like “Magic Girl” on acid, and besides a mind fuck, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  SM’s teaser videos helped relieve that worry a bit, but that wasn’t my only concern.  I’m not sure if I was the only one, but when SM said that the subgroup would have the lead vocals of the group, I was sure that meant Taeyeon, Tiffany, and Jessica, not Seohyun.  So when I found out who was the third, I was slightly worried again.  No, Seohyun’s not a bad singer.  She’s fantastic, actually.   She just doesn’t get to shine very often in Girls’ Generation lead songs, and to me, it seems she gets winded more easily than the other lead vocals.  I think even Sunny has better control than Seohyun.  And I think Jessica could have offered a lot in Seohyun’s stead.

That is, before I watched the video.  I still think Jessica would have been great, but wow.  Not many people can hold their own next to Tiffany and Taeyeon (including most of the other SNSD members), but Seohyun really proved herself.  She doesn’t quite have the power that Taeyeon does or the crisp control of Tiffany, but I was really surprised by how well she hit the notes and controlled them.  I can’t wait to see this live.

The music video was very simple–just a few different sets for dance shots and one or two sets for closeups.  Which, I think, was very intentional.  The focus of Taetiseo isn’t a flashy music video or appearance, it’s their vocals.  And that was the most prominent feature.

I have to admit, though, that the choreography was so well done.  Not the simple moves the girls did themselves, but the music video as a whole.  Dancers fluidly switched between acting and dancing and moving in and out of the set.  It was so well executed, even down to the paparazzi.  Of course, I would expect nothing less from SNSD.

While the concept photos are a bit bizarre (in an Alice in Wonderland sort of way), the rest of the outfits are stunning.  They really spent some money on the image of these girls–they had five or six different outfits in the video, and they all looked amazing.  SM must have gotten their best coordinators for this video.  Now, if only they would spare a good one for Hyoyeon.

This song is exactly what I expected from Taetiseo.  As far as girl groups go, you rarely see this much vocal challenge and demand in one song, especially a title track.  Actually, the only other that comes to mind is SNSD’s former labelmates CSJH the Grace in their glory days.  I’m so excited to see this performed live.  I haven’t listened to the full album yet, but I will soon.  I think this subgroup is very promising and I’m looking forward to what they have in store for us.

PS- Did you guys catch EXO-K in there? 😀  Kai and one of the other members who don’t matter because they’re not Kai made a split second appearance gettin jiggy with Tiffany before sliding on out.

I think Kai’s liking the view.

Actions

Information

One response

30 04 2012
Recommended Reading: April 30th, 2012 | Idolminded

[…] Jumping on the Bandwagon (Taetiseo – Twinkle) – Shanimuni Paradise Tsukiki has a great write-up on the new SNSD subunit and their just-released MV! […]

Leave a Reply

