All is Peachy with IU

6 05 2012

Korea’s little sister, IU, has just released a single for her upcoming album, titled “Peach.”  The full music video is not out yet (preview above), but the full audio has been released as a single!

I’ve had an off-and-on relationship with IU.  I definitely see why she’s captivated South Korea so fully.  She came onto my radar with “Marshmallow” because she performed it with BEAST’s Yoseob.  I was thoroughly unimpressed.  In fact, I hated the song.  It was obnoxious and I didn’t think she had much talent.  That was in 2009, and because she had not made an impression, I tuned her out of the next two years.  I got back into her music with Last Fantasy, which I thought was a lovely album.  Her vocals had gotten worlds better.  The lead track, “You + I” was charming, but it grew dull quickly.  As did the rest of her album.  I listened back a few singles and liked them all right, but nothing WOW’d me.

But after listening to “Peach”, IU has my full attention.

I’m normally not a huge fan of ballads or songs with mainly acoustic melodies, which is probably why I haven’t been much into IU’s music.  But there’s something about “Peach” that demands you love it.

It’s so soothing and gentle.  If anything is wrong, “Peach” is the song to cure it.  If I’m correct, IU wrote and composed the song herself, and you can hear her emotions and passion flow from this song despite her soft voice.  Rarely do I listen to music that “paints a picture” in your head, like a poem or a novel.  But “Peach” makes me feel like I’m floating on a cloud on a cool Spring morning just drifting with the wind.  I love it.  It’s a wonderful end of the semester song.

I’m now really looking forward to her album if it promises more songs like “Peach.”  IU’s back on my radar and I hope this doesn’t disappoint after a few listens! (Although that doesn’t seem likely, I listened to “Peach” on repeat while writing this entire post and still adore it.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

